Fixing temprorary fragments

Surprise! Or at least to me… My XForms are not the source of the majority of my temporary fragments, at least as far as I can tell. This is good news because the XForms constitute the most complicated part of my web app, and would take the longest amount of time to troubleshoot and fix.

I’ve follwed the trail of temprorary fragments on my development machine by tracking the exist logs. After every query/page request I check the logs to see if a temprary fragment has been created. In addition  I’ve set up a little xquery that pulls the results out of /db/system/temp so I can see excatly what the temprary fragment is, allowing me to pin point the problems in my xqueries.

The results supprised me, although after a little more reading on eXist and temporary fragments, they make sense. In particular this thread on the eXist mailing list was enlightening. I use the doc() function to return the xml response from Solr and then transform it with XSL stored in eXist. For some reason I was calling the results like this:  doc(‘solrResults’)/child::*  As noted in the above thread, applying an xpath to the returned fragment causes it to be stored as a temporary fragment. The fix has been easy enough, I simply removed the child::* operator and adjusted my XSL.

I have a few other queries that were also creating temporary fragments, and for the most part the issues are very similar, the use of xpath on a returned fragment, rather than using xsl, or even creating variables in the xquery to get the values. For the most part it has been pretty simple to rewrite these queries, and has also given me a chance to clean up some of my code.  In addition I’ve allocated more memory to Tomcat. Hopefully these two adjustments will alleviate the issues we have been having the past few weeks.

One Response to “Fixing temprorary fragments”

  1. Sebastian Schnitzenbaumer Says:

    Sounds good.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

