MODS for everyone

When I started working on the CDI project almost 2 years ago there were no easy solutions for integrating the creation and editing of complex metadata into a project workflow. Most DAMS (Digital Asset Management Systems) came with the ability to create Dublin Core, or some form of modified Dublin Core, but the creation of MODS was not supported.

Today there are a plethora of people working on MODS editor solutions. Here are just a few:

  1. The University of Tennessee Libraries – The University of Tennessee has released their MODS workbook as open source, it is a web based form that I believe is javascript based.
  2. Peter Binkley at the University of Alberta – Peter has just announced his MODS editor is complete, or very nearly so and is built using the Cocoon Forms Framework and and you can try it out here.
  3. Michael Park at Brown University – Mike has been working on a MODS editor using Orbeon Forms.
    **edited to add links from our recent presentation:
    Code and documentation: http://dl.lib.brown.edu/its/software/metadata/
    Example: http://riker.services.brown.edu:8080/repo/mods/demo.html
  4. Parmit Chilana formerly at Princeton University – Wrote a MODS editor using Orbeon, I’m not sure who has taken over now that she has moved on.
  5. Clay Redding at the Library of Congress
  6. Me – I just got permission to release our metadata editor as open source from the UVM powers-that-be. The forms need some cleaning up, but I’m posting my demo forms here, and will be slowly adding the code for the entire metadata editing interface, including our forms for posting data to Solr. I’ve also had some time to refine the MODS editor we are using in production, there are two versions, the simple version – used by the copy catalogers – and the full version for editing the full record.
    **links from my recent presentation:
    Code: http://code.google.com/p/xforms4lib/
    Examples:

Its great to see so much development happening in this area, it always seemed crazy to me that we had so many library metadata standards but but no way for our users to create these records. I still prefer the XForms solution to most of the other solutions I’ve seen, just because XForms seems to me the most logical and simple (in spite of all the trouble I’ve had with it) method for creating and editing XML data.

Now, if only someone would build a decent METS editor.

3 Responses to “MODS for everyone”

  1. Peter Sefton Says:

    The Muradora Fedora repository has a built-in MODS editor which I think is XForms based with some kind of server-side engine.

    http://drama.ramp.org.au/cgi-bin/trac.cgi

  2. Michael Park Says:

    Here’s a link to mine – http://dl.lib.brown.edu/its/software/metadata/

  3. wsalesky Says:

    Thanks Mike and Peter for the additional links.

    Mike, my next blog post is going to be about our code4lib presentation, I’ll link to our slides and probably give a summary of both our projects. I’m trying to get a cleaner version of my editor up on google code first though. :)

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

