Loose Ends

Loose ends that I’m still working on in no order whatsoever:

  1. OAI data provider, looks like I’ll be doing this in XQuery, thanks to Kevin and Mike for the jumping off point for this.
  2. Lucene search, since the release date has been pushed back (to match the grand opening of our non-virtual office) I think I’ll hold off on this until after the cod4lib pre-conference. I’m also waiting until after the conference to start exploring some faceted browse and/or search options.
  3. Collection level pages, need a little redesigning
  4. Adding a save as pdf option to items and EADs.
  5. Adding a sandbox for development.
  6. Those other XForms, METS and MODS.
  7. Creating a better browse page. Currently it is a browse by title, I’d like to add the options to browse by subject, date, people, and places. Still working on getting the metadata to support these features.
3 Responses to “Loose Ends”

  1. mjgiarlo Says:

    Howdy Winona,

    Hope the OAI XQuery code comes in handy for you. I never finished it, but I don’t imagine it’s that far off. Just need to implement time range support, resumption tokens, and sets (if you need them). And, of course, I’d be interested in your modifications once you get started; this was the first (and only) thing I’ve written in XQuery.

    -Mike

  2. wsalesky Says:

    Hey Mike,
    I’m working on the OAI stuff as we speak (putting together the time range support). You are right it is pretty close to complete, I’m changing somethings around because I want to add support for harvesting from DC, MODS, and EAD records (maybe TEI also). I also want to add some support for sets and deleted records, but need to make some repository wide decisions on how to handle these. I’ll be sure to send you a copy when I’ve got something a little more together. Thanks again for sharing your code.
    -Winona

  3. mjgiarlo Says:

    Excellent! Can’t wait to take a look at the completed code. :)

Comments are closed.


