4 Responses to “For every solution a new problem”

  1. jrochkind Says:

    OPACs _don’t_ generally do that, but they _should_. So we’re on our own in figuring out the ‘best practice’ way to do these things. Jon Gorman has been thinking about it, and hopefully will have an article about it in the next Code4Lib Journal, although I don’t know if he gets into some of the nitty gritty about corporate name headings and such.

  2. wsalesky Says:

    It seems like such a waste that OPACs really do not make much use of the authority records. I know you can go in and browse through the authority records, but I find that to be a generally unrewarding and non-intuitive experience as a user. Anyway, I look forward to hearing what Jon has to say in the next Cod4lib publication.

  3. jrochkind Says:

    And PS, yes, I agree with you about the shortcomings of current authority structures, and how it should be instead. I’ve been thinking about this for a while too.

  4. wsalesky Says:

    I was discussing this with a colleague from the medical library and she mentioned that PubMed does index their items with related terms, variants, broader terms and narrower terms. I don’t think adding narrower terms makes much sense but I’m certainly leaning towards the rest.

Comments are closed.


